Connect with us
Asian Hockey Champions


Asian Hockey Champions Tournament 2016 India Defeats Pakistan 3-2

In the Asian Hockey Champions Tournament held yesterday, India Beat Pakistan 3-2 for the second time since 2011. India won the Asian Hockey Champions Trophy. The team made it a ‘Diwali event’ by winning the title even though India’s ace PR Sreejesh could not play as he had a pulled hamstring. Team India’s Nikkin Thimmaiah (51st minute), Yousuf Affan (23rd minute), and Rupinder Pal Singh (18th minute) scored the three goals. Pakistan was able to manage only two goals. Pakistan’s Muhammad Aleem Bilal (26th minute) and Ali Shan (38th minute) scored the two goals for Pakistan.

Asian Hockey Champions Trophy 2016

The Asian Hockey Champions Trophy is a hockey event held annually.  This hockey sport event is held by the Asian Hockey Federation from the year 2011. In this classic sport of Hockey, there are six field hockey teams competing against each other in a round robin format in the Asian Hockey Championships. The most successful teams get to play each other. India and Pakistan are generally the teams that score the highest number of points. So far, each of the two countries won the Asian Hockey Champions Trophy twice. In the Womens Category for Asian Hockey Champions, Japan is the defending Champion. In the Mens Asian Hockey Championships, India is the defending Champion. This year 2016 Asian Hockey Championship, India Beat Pakistan 3-2 in the finals.

India’s Second Win since 2011

Earlier India won the very first time of Asian Champions Trophy which happened in the year 2011. This being the inaugural edition, India was the finalists the next three consecutive years. Pakistan won the Asian Champions Trophy Title for the year 2012 and 2013. India once again beat Pakistan these finals of the Asian Champions Trophy tournament held yesterday. Yesterday’s win came as a Diwali treat for the hockey sport event.


More in News